Pace and Cap  - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up

Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up (http://paceandcap.com/forums/index.php)
-   RDSS2 / FAQ's (http://paceandcap.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   RDSS2 - FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) (http://paceandcap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9110)

Ted Craven 04-19-2013 01:45 PM

RDSS2 - FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)
 
Here are Frequently Asked Questions - and Answers about using RDSS2. Hopefully they will answer some of yours :)

Feel free to ask 'How do I ...' type questions here. I may 'tidy things up' a bit for posterity, so this can be a concise resource.

Ted

.

Ted Craven 04-19-2013 01:50 PM

Example Databases - Database Management tool
 
Quote:

Regarding the use of the Example Databases, e.g. Sunday April 7th, I am having a problem getting it into the right file for processing. I am assuming that it should show up in the Race Card section?? Would appreciate your help.
Please check out the RDSS2 Getting Started tutorial video, around the 14:50 minute mark where I discuss and demonstrate using that Database Management tool, and switching among the different Example Databases.


Let me know if that helps!


I plan to make another specific video tutorial soon focusing on using that tool, switching among databases, making new ones, retrieving new samples from online.


.

Ted Craven 04-19-2013 01:54 PM

Registration - Renewal Date Incorrect, NewPace Module Missing
 
2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

When I Register my existing RDSS account by clicking the Update Button, I only get another 30 days, not my correct Renewal Date - and my NewPace module is not showing up.
If you already have an ongoing RDSS Subscription and are Registering this new update, the first time you click the Update button on the Registration Tab, your Status changes to Evaluation (Active) and the Renewal Date is extended for the normal 30 days - no Modules are shown.

To get the Status to be fully Active, the Renewal date to be the correct date and any plugin Modules (e.g. NewPace) to show up - please simply click the Update button again.

If I have never picked up your new TrackMaster account before (e.g. new Evaluation, first time registering) - the 30 days is your evaluation period and the Evaluation (Active) Status gives you access to ALL of RDSS2. As soon as I add your new ID to my RDSS Registration server, your Status will change to Active (i.e. the next time you click Update or check available cards in the Data Centre).

I know - if you're an existing Subscriber, the software should be (and will soon be) smart enough to know you the first time! I'll speak to the programmer ...http://www.paceandcap.com/forums/ima...ilies/wink.gif


The first time you click on Update Registration Info:

http://paceandcap.com/forums/attachm...6&d=1366379487Attachment 34283

The second time you click on Update Registration Info:

http://paceandcap.com/forums/attachm...7&d=1366379487Attachment 34284


.

Ted Craven 04-26-2013 11:10 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

I can't seem to get the horse screen layout to show all 3 panels, like some of the videos.
Depending on your screen resolution, you will have room for either 2 or 3 panels (or maybe even just 1 panel on a very small tablet or netbook, perhaps in combination with Windows font magnification settings > 100%).

1024 and higher vertical resolution gives room for 3 panels (e.g. you can include an Analysis panel at the bottom). Example resolutions are 1280 x 1024, 1680 x 1050 1920 x 1080. Some common resolutions have 900 vertical or less, which is not enough to show 3 panels - you'll only get part of the Analysis or even just the Tabs and no numbers. RDSS tries to automatically configure the screen to 2 panels if it detects less than 1024 vertical resolution. If you set the Windows font magnification to higher than 100%, RDSS does get confused at the moment and can try to display 3 panels when there is actually room for only 2, with the larger fonts.

You set the Panel and Tab list layouts in the Tab and Panel Layout tool. Click on the 'gear' icon (the Layout Config Icon) at the right edge of a horse panel to bring up the tool, then choose the number of panels which works best for your screen resolution. You can also change the set of Tabs displayed on each horse PP Panel, as well as their order. The Layout Config Icon on each PP panel controls the layout for that particular panel.

Attachment 34145
.

Ted Craven 05-01-2013 05:08 PM

Data Missing after switching to Example Databases
 
Quote:

Using the Database Management Tool, I switched to one of the Example Databases to check it out. When I switched back to my regular database, it was empty - no cards or races were there.

Where's my races? :eek:
When you switched back to your regular database, you chose the wrong file. Your Example Databases, both supplied with the software or downloaded later from the website, reside on your RDSS2 Data folder and you likely switched to a file named data.db in that folder, which is empty.

Your 'regular database' however is stored in RDSS Data (i.e. c:\rdss\data), the location for data originally for RDSS1 (V0.99.2), the older RDSS version, and shared with RDSS2. To get your data back, Switch using the Database Tool and navigate the file system from the RDSS2 Data folder to the RDSS folder, then the Data sub-folder and select the data.db file there. That's your regular data.

In fact, it is much simpler to simply leave the database RDSS2 is using as c:\RDSS2\Data\data.db (the empty one) - then exit RDSS2 and move your regular database file (named data.db) from your RDSS Data folder to the RDSS2 Data folder and overwrite the empty one there. Then, ALL your data will be in the same folder and much easier when switching among the various alternate databases.

I made a video explaining that, demonstrating how to create a NEW database, and how to recover from problems if you try to switch to a file which is not a database file (i.e. you won't be able open RDSS2).

Here's the Database Management Tool Video in the RDSS2 Videos section.

.

taxman 05-10-2013 01:28 PM

Using Rdss example database
 
Quote:

I downloaded Rdss software, sample database and opened account with TrackMaster. The software lists the example database, but I can not show any data from it.
If you downloaded the ZIP file version (i.e. of the 2010 Example database), you have to extract the DB file from within it to your \rdss2\data\ folder. If you downloaded the unzipped version, or any other example database (which are not zipped), it still needs to be present in the \rdss2\data\ folder. Just move it there from wherever you downloaded it

Then, using the RDSS Database Mgmt tool on the RDSS Desktop, switch to that database file on the \rdss2\data folder, then restart RDSS using that database. Races will be found in the PAST section.

atkinsrr 05-15-2013 07:45 PM

How to Export Data from RDSS
 
2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

At the top right of my BL/BL screen there is a red arrow pointing to the right. I click on it and a window comes up titled 'Export Analysis Data' with several File Format options. Which one do I use?
Quote:

How do I export Analysis Data to Excel for making Decision or 'Factor' Models (Brohamer Models)?
Attachment 34300
Attachment 34299

This is how you export data from RDSS to various file formats for use in other programs. Most people will want to select Excel, the default.

Excel files are created from the Analysis data and stored in your \Rdss2\Models\ folder. Here is the written and video documentation on exporting data to an Excel file and making Factor models:

Export to Excel

Original Release Notes: http://paceandcap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5947
An update: http://paceandcap.com/forums/showpos...77&postcount=3 (please see point #2)
A tutorial video: http://paceandcap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5987


Export to Older Sartin Programs

You can also export to older Sartin DOS programs either raw 3 call format or adjusted 3 call format; programs such as EXDC, Thoromation, Kgen, Synergism 2. If you don't use these programs, you don't need to think about these options.

For Synergism2, here are tutorial videos made by Bill V:

Video #1
Video #2


.

Ted Craven 05-27-2013 12:02 PM

After Switching Databases, can't run RDSS
 
Quote:


After trying to switch to a different database using the Database Management tool, I get error messages when restarting RDSS2 and now cannot start it at all!

Most likely, when using the Database Management tool to switch databases, you chose a file which is NOT a Database file (i.e. does not end in file extension .DB or type = 'Data Base'). For example, perhaps you chose a ZIP file downloaded from TrackMaster from the Data Archive (\rdss2\Data\PP\2013\ ...) thinking it was a RDSS database file (they are only 'delivery' files from TrackMaster to RDSS - not databases).

This problem is discussed and the workaround is demonstrated in the Database Management tool video, at 20 minutes 45 seconds.

In short, open your RDSS Configure file in a text editor (e.g. \rdss2\Configure\Configure.ini), search for the line which begins: DatabaseFile= and change the file named after the = sign to c:\rdss2\data\data.db or whichever drive other than Drive C you have installed RDSS2 on). Save and close the Configure file, then restart RDSS2. Then you can try again to switch to a different Database (a .DB file, or Type = 'Data Base').

(Note: in future versions after Beta2.6-02, the software will prevent you from trying to switch to a file other than a proper Database type file.)

.

Ted Craven 05-27-2013 12:59 PM

How to Print RDSS screens / Take Screen Shots
 
3 Attachment(s)
Quote:


How do I get printouts of RDSS data screens, or make screen captures like I see throughout Paceandcap?

RDSS does not yet have a built in Print button which prints a single screen or a pre-defined collection of screens. Part of the problem is that there is an endless combination of possible screens and orderings - one size would not fit all: some would get too many printouts, some too few or not in the preferred order, etc.

Instead, you can easily create your own customized printout using the following steps:

1. On the RDSS2 Desktop, click the Screen Capture button. This loads a Windows utility named 'SnippingTool.exe' which looks like this:

Attachment 34333

2. Minimize this utility then go to the RDSS screen or screens you wish to print. Click on the SnippingTool again in your Taskbar, choose New then create a rectangle on your screen using your mouse. The rectangle is outlined in red. When you release your mouse button, tht area of the screen is copied to the Windows Clipboard and subsequently displayed in a little window for your review.

Attachment 34334

3. For each race (or for groups of races) create a blank Rich Text Format (RTF) file using Wordpad or Word, or a Word format file (DOC or DOCX) if you have Word. Open the file then Paste the screen you just captured from the Windows Clipboard to your file (right-click then choose Paste, or just use the keyboard shortcut keys: Ctrl+V).

Attachment 34335

Download and use this blank RTF template file if you like, or create your own using Word or WordPad (or other RTF or DOC format editor).

4. Repeat for as many different screen captures, in whatever order you need, add notes if you like, then Print the document. Switch to Landscape page orientation if Portrait mode squashes the screens. You can also Save it to a PDF format for sharing if you are using Word, or print it to a PDF document using Bullzip or other PDF printer driver. You could have 1 such document for all races on a card, or 1 document for each race.

5. If the RDSS Desktop Screen Capture button does not properly find and load the Windows 'SnippingTool', run it manually from the Windows Start menu by typing SnippingTool.

6. You can also use other screen capture utilities like Snagit or ScreenHunterFree.

Happy Printing!

.

Ted Craven 06-03-2013 03:20 PM

Watching Video Tutorials
 
Quote:

I can't open any of the tutorials. I downloaded them to rdss2 data file. Anyone know what to do?
Video Tutorials are in MP4 format. Download and install VideoLan VLC Media Player (free) for best viewing results. When installed, VLC will associate itself with MP4 type files. Then all you need to do is click on them to view them.

Also, you don't have to download these video tutorials to the RDSS2 Data folder - they can go anywhere you like, for example your Windows Videos folder. You should download the Example Databases to the RDSS2 Data folder.

.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.