Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > Sartin Methodology Handicapping 101 (102 ...) > Previous 'Handicapping Discussion' Forum
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

Previous 'Handicapping Discussion' Forum General Handicapping Discussion

Old 04-02-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
TheSpokesman
AlwNW3X

Some Insight From A Jockey Agent

In my career as a jockey agent I have represented numerous jockeys on the Louisiana circuit including Rico Flores, Amanda Crandall, and Beverly Burress (who won the leading apprentice title at Oaklawn Park in her bug year). I am sometimes amused at the capsule comments in the Daily Racing Form, and thought I would offer a little insight on one of my favorites.

I'm sure you have seen a race where two horses of seemingly equal ability that were ridden by the same jockey in their most recent race are in again. Obviously, the jockey will only be named on one and the capsule comment will invariably say something like, "Jockey sticks" or "Flores lands here" which leads the handicapper to believe that the jockey has chosen the better of the two. Take it from me, this is not the case more often than not.

As an agent my job is to put my riders on the best horse, but sometimes I will have to ride the lesser animal due to circumstances beyond my control. Here are some examples: