Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Old 12-17-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
Ted Craven
Grade 1

RDSS Online Group - Live Play

OK, here's a thread to figure out the optimal way to do a multi-party Skype group, sharing voice and screens (do we need video, don't think so, plus it eats bandwidth and I'd have to brush my hair ;-)

I have a Skype Premium subscription. I understand I can connect 10 different Skype accounts at the same time - just add them to a Contact Group. I have a Contact Group named Sartin Methodology.

When I happen to be online in Skype (which is only when I need to, not by default) I can connect 9 others to the same audio and screen discussion. Just the same as we can using TeamViewer only with fewer presentation controls and fewer people (15 using TeamViewer).

When I am not online in Skype, how do people connect to the Skype Group? Do I need to have a separate Skype account, with Premium subscription (for multi-party screen/voice sharing), for example loaded and always running on an unattended server (I have one)? I can't always have Skype going and always be part of a Skype group discussion.

And Chat (SMS) - what is the purpose of doing this via Skype - isn't that just what the P&C bulletin board is?

These are some of the logistics I don't yet understand of using a Skype Group to facilitate group live play. Anyone who has done this before, or understands this better, please feel free to share ideas here.

Right now, 1:15pm Eastern, I am online Skype and happy to talk this through with anyone. Also do some live play of perhaps Philly or Beulah?

My Skype ID is ted.craven (Huntsville, Ontario, Canada)