Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Old 07-11-2016, 12:50 PM   #1
Tim Y
turf historian

The bigger hurdle, the one not metioned

I have a great friend from Hastings race course, a mathematician by trade, who writes a tip sheet there call the Odds Professor. It is his contention, and the NOW ENLIGHTENED author here since making his acquaintance, that this game is TAUGHT completely BACKWARDS. One should have a very good grasp on gambling (the practical expression of what we do as handicappers) long before the other side of the equation is approached

Fans, in general, spend FAR too much time splitting hairs over this miniscule handicapping factor or the other, and then almost forget to evaluate the markets offered to them race to race and the most efficient way to capitalize on mismatches.

There are NO magic formulas out there to best go after the $$$$$ as each course has peculiarities to the next as WE ALL KNOW (but few admit it) that our particular capping skills do not have universal success.

I experiment, from time to time, with a new course to see how my approach predicts the outcomes. Hit and miss, but I have found some really nice gems in the bull ring category. THEN from that group (where you know your style works) one has to jettison the tracks that do not give ROI (like Fair Grounds main course or Sam Houston) worth following them long term due to short field size or constantly low mutuels.