Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > RDSS 2.2 (and previous versions)
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

RDSS 2.2 (and previous versions) Racing Decision Support System - The NEW Version 2.2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2021, 02:36 PM   #1
Hanger
AlwNW3X
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Surface Changes

Does it matter if the listed surface is not the one they are running on today?


Example, Arlington is off turf- all POLY today. There is no option to change from Turf to Poly- so as long as I select POLY pace lines, nothing should really change right?....


Or is there more behind the scenes I am missing by not having the track surface correctly match the pace lines?


Thanks.
Hanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 03:26 PM   #2
Mitch44
Grade 1
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: The Villages, Fl.
Posts: 3,235
Basically a horse that runs on turf can handle synthetic tracks. What they don't like is the kickback from dirt and that pretty much does not exist on Turf or Poly, when it does it occurs lower on the body and not the head. However within Turf or Poly the horse may do better on one or the other. But for the most part their interchangeable.

I only use a Poly line if it doesn't have any Turf lines. Match the surface, Poly would only be if no Turf lines (plural here)exist.

Mitch44
Mitch44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 03:27 PM   #3
SCSAYS
AlwNW3X
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
At AP Poly is considered the main track. If you look at the entries screen for race 2 that was origionally carded for the turf , the last line in the race conditions box states that the race will be run on the main track at 1 1/16 (8.5)
SCSAYS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 03:32 PM   #4
Hanger
AlwNW3X
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCSAYS View Post
At AP Poly is considered the main track. If you look at the entries screen for race 2 that was origionally carded for the turf , the last line in the race conditions box states that the race will be run on the main track at 1 1/16 (8.5)



Oh....don't I feel dumb, changed it to main track and poof it changed to Poly......sorry
Hanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 03:33 PM   #5
Hanger
AlwNW3X
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch44 View Post
Basically a horse that runs on turf can handle synthetic tracks. What they don't like is the kickback from dirt and that pretty much does not exist on Turf or Poly, when it does it occurs lower on the body and not the head. However within Turf or Poly the horse may do better on one or the other. But for the most part their interchangeable.

I only use a Poly line if it doesn't have any Turf lines. Match the surface, Poly would only be if no Turf lines (plural here)exist.

Mitch44

Thanks Mitch, yes usually the synthetic I cap like turf as well, save you usually want to be more forwardly placed, but agree a lot of interchangeable parts there....
Thank you
Hanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 06:13 PM   #6
Ted Craven
Grade 1
 
Ted Craven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 8,178
You can change the surface/distance of a race (e.g. for taken off Turf) on the Card Summary screen by right-clicking on the Surface or Distance Column and using the Dialog box which pops up.

In most cases (like this one), you'd select Main Track as the Surface change-to option. If the distance changes too, select the new distance, then click Update.

Ted
__________________

R
DSS -
Racing Decision Support System™
Ted Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 09:41 PM   #7
ranchwest
Grade 1
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Craven View Post
You can change the surface/distance of a race (e.g. for taken off Turf) on the Card Summary screen by right-clicking on the Surface or Distance Column and using the Dialog box which pops up.

In most cases (like this one), you'd select Main Track as the Surface change-to option. If the distance changes too, select the new distance, then click Update.

Ted
Is that information active for the current session or is it stored for usage in subsequent sessions, too?
ranchwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 11:18 PM   #8
Ted Craven
Grade 1
 
Ted Craven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 8,178
The change is stored in the database, so, it's persistent across sessions.

Ted
__________________

R
DSS -
Racing Decision Support System™
Ted Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 01:50 PM   #9
Hanger
AlwNW3X
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Craven View Post
You can change the surface/distance of a race (e.g. for taken off Turf) on the Card Summary screen by right-clicking on the Surface or Distance Column and using the Dialog box which pops up.

In most cases (like this one), you'd select Main Track as the Surface change-to option. If the distance changes too, select the new distance, then click Update.

Ted

Thanks Ted, yeah I saw that, and didnt even think that AP would call their Poly Main track- but obviously it is....just a blunder on my thought process. Thank you!
Hanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2021, 08:29 PM   #10
ranchwest
Grade 1
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Craven View Post
The change is stored in the database, so, it's persistent across sessions.

Ted
Thanks, Ted.
ranchwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa Anita and synthetic surface stats mick General Discussion 1 10-27-2019 09:36 AM
Surface of a different color Tim Y General Discussion 7 11-25-2016 11:08 AM
The "best" speed rating of the last 3 at a comparable distance surface and competitio Bill V. General Discussion 8 04-29-2014 03:38 PM
Santa Anita Eyes Dirt Surface fasteddy General Discussion 0 05-22-2010 06:13 PM
Surface & Mode Changes bobp RDSS 1 04-15-2009 09:10 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 AM.