Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > Sartin Methodology Handicapping 101 (102 ...) > Previous 'Handicapping Discussion' Forum > Welcome to the Sartin Methodology
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

Welcome to the Sartin Methodology New members: introduce yourselves! Ask about how to get started, get pointers in the right direction.

Old 12-11-2012, 05:00 PM   #1
joefour
AlwNW3X

New to RDSS

Hi,

I'm new to RDSS and was wondering if someone could help me with several questions I am having trouble finding answers to in prior postings. First, what is the difference between Pace of the Horse and Pace of the Race? Secondly, What is the difference between Total Energy shown under the tabs PoH, PoR and the Energy Tab. They are all different! Lastly, why do the horse(s) shown having the greatest energy rating often are not the first ones nearest the finish line under the segments tab?
joefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:56 PM   #2
Ted Craven
Grade 1

Hi Joe, and welcome!

Pace of Horse (PoH) is the Pace of the Race (PoR) plus/minus lengths gained/lost during each race segment. PoR is a short-hand for the times set by the front-runner at each call point of the race (Call1, Call2 Finish). Thus, a gate-to-wire winner will have the same PoH and PoR numbers: the horse WAS the Pace of the Race.

Total Energy (TE), when not otherwise qualified, refers to the Total Energy of the Horse: the sum of the 3 fractional velocities of the horse itself (F1+F2+F3 velocity = Total Energy; i.e. the velocities of the horse itself, adjusted for lengths gained/lost). We show 2 Velocity screens: PoH and PoR - and the difference between the 2 is that the Horse (PoH) is adjusted for beaten lengths gained/lost while the PoR screen shows the velocity resulting from measuring the running times of the front runner at each point.