Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > General Discussion
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

General Discussion General Horse Racing Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2020, 04:09 PM   #1
royal
AlwNW1X
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 12
Why is the program scratching horses that are running

Just lost my pick 5 at Santa Anita because a horse that the program scratch was in the race. This situation has happened a few times. What is the solution
royal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 07:13 PM   #2
Ted Craven
Grade 1
 
Ted Craven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,581
Which race?

A long-standing issue is that SA (and DMR) excludes horses in the TrackMaster data file that are EARLY scratches, unlike every other track on the continent, which simply show EARLY scratches as part of the runner list.

So if the #2 horse (for example) is scratched, the TrackMaster data will not even include it, and RDSS will show horses 1,3,4,5,6 ...

Then, when RDSS contacts the TwinSpires tote system and finds that the #2 horse is scratched (correctly, in this example), it marks the 2nd horse it knows about as scratched - which in this example would be the #3 horse (incorrectly).

I suspect something like that happened to you

The solution is to check the actual scratches according to your ADW (particularly in the case of SoCal: SA and DMR).

If RDSS persists in scratching your horse in this case, you'll have to turn off the tote system (http://www.paceandcap.com/forums/sho...&postcount=251).

Sorry you missed your Pick 5

Ted
__________________

R
DSS -
Racing Decision Support System™
Ted Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 07:20 PM   #3
Bill V.
The egg man
 
Bill V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlsbad, California
Posts: 10,005
sorry

Quote:
Originally Posted by royal View Post
Just lost my pick 5 at Santa Anita because a horse that the program scratch was in the race. This situation has happened a few times. What is the solution
Hi I am sorry this happened,

The 4 horse Stopped Raining was an early scratch.
The program thinks that the 4th horse in the race was scratched
so it scratched the eventual winner Lavender who actually was post position 5

This only seems to happen at California

I just have to be very careful when I make tickets The only solution is to
click on the wrongly scratched horse so that it now is in the race and rerun the race

Name:  Cal race 1.PNG
Views: 109
Size:  282.8 KB

Name:  Lavey.PNG
Views: 106
Size:  53.6 KB
Bill V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 07:40 PM   #4
Bill V.
The egg man
 
Bill V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Carlsbad, California
Posts: 10,005
Foreign Horse

Another issue is the 5 horse who won is a foreign horse. So there was no paceline to select. I have RDSS to auto-select the best of last three
But since horse 5 had no usable line It still seems to be scratched

Name:  another.PNG
Views: 106
Size:  59.4 KB
Bill V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8 Month Matchup Thread (Re-posted) Bill Lyster Matchup Discussion 4 05-01-2015 05:02 PM
Sunday 10/2 at Parx - TM104 Race Class RichieP Matchup Discussion 14 10-04-2011 02:07 PM
The Match-Up After Six Months mamojica Matchup Discussion 4 10-04-2009 10:53 PM
Jim Bradshaw's 5 Step Approach to learning the Matchup RichieP Hat Check - How Can We Help You? 1 05-25-2009 09:52 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 PM.