Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > Sartin Methodology Handicapping 101 (102 ...)
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

Sartin Methodology Handicapping 101 (102 ...) Interactive Teaching & Learning - Race Conditions, Contenders, Pacelines, Advanced Concepts, Betting ...

Old 01-19-2024, 04:15 PM   #1
glass_oni0n
AlwNW1X

Tips from Experienced RDSS Users

Hi everybody, I'm still fairly new to the RDSS/Sartin community and I'm looking for a little guidance. I started using the software back in October after learning pace handicapping from the Brohamer book, and I have found a lot of success and a lot of failure.

I've mostly been trying to learn as I go, and while I've run into some great wins, it's been a bit of a struggle to really nail this. I brought a $300 TwinSpires balance into over 1,800...and then the slide happened. I bottomed out to about as low as $900, before getting myself back up a bit and I've been hovering in the 1000-1200 range for the past few weeks. I bring up funds only as a means of framing my see-saw like success/failure pattern. I'll hit a few winners, maybe even catch a good lean with some of my 4-factor models, but before I know it I've lost 20 bets in a row largely doing the same things I was when I was winning.

I feel like I'm not developing positive, repeatable habits in my handicapping or my betting, and I feel like that's one of RDSS/Sartin's chief functions. I'm painfully aware that this is a "me," problem, I'm the type of person who tries to build a desk without reading the instructions, believing I'm somehow insufficient if I can't figure it out on my own. But the full spectrum of the reading material on both RDSS and Sartin is daunting, even for someone whose "job," is learning how to handicap horses.