Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > RDSS 2.1
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

RDSS 2.1 Racing Decision Support System - The NEW Version!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2017, 12:21 PM   #1
froggy
Grade 1
 
froggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bullhead City Az
Posts: 905
Profit line

Does one have to be on line with Twin Spires to make RX3 work?
froggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 01:09 PM   #2
mick
Grade 1
 
mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nashville
Posts: 254
Hi, Froggy.

You have to login to Twinspires to retrieve the Profit Line data but I don't think you have to remain on-line.

Here's a screenshot of today's first race at Oaklawn. After I assembled the card, I logged into Twinspires for the PL data, but I'm not on-line now. And Rx3 uses the PL data.

__________________
mick

"Profitably wagering on a stochastic event (one governed by variables) is possible only when the person doing the wagering is not one of the variables."
- Howard Sartin

Illustrated Glossary
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 02:14 PM   #3
mick
Grade 1
 
mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nashville
Posts: 254
Froggy, I gave you an incomplete answer. If you don't retrieve the PL data from Twinspires, RDSS will still provide an Rx3 score. Obviously, the Rx3 score won't contain the PL data. Instead, the CR+ (enhanced Class Rating) component of Rx3 will be given extra weighting. Or at least that was the case the last time I corresponded with Ted. He's always tinkering with his formulas, trying to improve them.

You can see the difference on the last two posts of this thread:
http://paceandcap.com/forums/showthr...849#post108849
__________________
mick

"Profitably wagering on a stochastic event (one governed by variables) is possible only when the person doing the wagering is not one of the variables."
- Howard Sartin

Illustrated Glossary
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 08:05 PM   #4
froggy
Grade 1
 
froggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bullhead City Az
Posts: 905
Thanks.
I don't expect to get Twin Spires any time soon.
froggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 08:36 AM   #5
gandalf380
Grade 1
 
gandalf380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: central islip ny
Posts: 421
I signed up just to use profit line never sent them a penny
__________________
Check out my daily picks for the Saratoga Special
http://www.thisishorseracing.com
gandalf380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 01:38 PM   #6
smitty73
Maiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Am I missing something? My Twin Spires account only show a Profit Line PDF that is a $5.00 to download. Please advise...
smitty73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:05 PM   #7
Lt1
Grade 1
 
Lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Valley Stream NY
Posts: 913
Smitty when you sign into your Twin Spires and click on wager now you should be getting the profit line grid for the track you pick as your 1st choice. You can pick 5 tracks and get the grid for each when you click on that track.
Tim
__________________
Trust but verify
Lt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:50 PM   #8
smitty73
Maiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks Lt1,
I spoke with Twin Spires it was trying to pull from a closed account.
Smitty
smitty73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 03:24 PM   #9
Lt1
Grade 1
 
Lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Valley Stream NY
Posts: 913
Your welcome Smitty.
Tim
__________________
Trust but verify
Lt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 06:00 PM   #10
Ted Craven
Grade 1
 
Ted Craven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,895
Smitty, actually all you have to do is log in to a valid TwinSpires (TS) account. Then use RDSS to obtain ProfitLine (if you wish to use it in the RDSS data array) by clicking on the ProfitLine button on the Entries screen for a given race, or a given Card Summary, or ALL Cards in MyRaces for Today.

You don't have to interact with anything on TS in your browser to get ProfitLine numbers - just use RDSS once you've logged in to TS. Same with getting race Results and Mutuel prices: when logged in to TS, use the Mutuels buttons on the same RDSS locations as above (plus the Rx screen).

AND -- Mick's earlier comment about Rx3 is correct: Rx3 is in fact the array of factors shown on the Rx screen PLUS ProfitLine, while Rx2 is the same array plus an extra dose of CR+ (enhanced Class Rating) if you don't want to or don't have access to ProfitLine or TwinSpires. In the latest aggregate Models I've seen of many hundreds of recent races this Autumn, Rx2 and Rx3 and within a few % points of Hit Rate (not sure above ROI). Lastly, Rx1 is the above mentioned factor array from Rx screen plus Morning Line. For those tracks with strong Morning Lines (e.g. NYRA, SoCal, others - check your Models), Rx1 can be very comprehensive in the Top 3 or 4 ranks.

Hope that helps Smitty (and welcome!)

Ted
__________________

R
DSS -
Racing Decision Support System™ Follow on Twitter @SartinMethod

Last edited by Ted Craven; 12-03-2017 at 06:11 PM.
Ted Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
winners LPR Bill V. Pace Makes the Race / TPR 16 04-22-2016 11:45 PM
Using RDSS with a sample race in my learning (Apr 13, 2013 - OP Race 2) NeedForSpeed RDSS 5 06-13-2013 03:28 PM
Major vs. Minor tracks Bill P General Discussion 109 04-05-2010 04:23 PM
Paceline selection AAcoolguy General Discussion 44 07-27-2008 09:42 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 AM.