Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > Hat Check - How Can We Help You? > Matchup Discussion
Mark Forums Read
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts

Matchup Discussion Matchup Discussion and Practice

Old 04-28-2015, 07:49 PM   #1
Bill Lyster
Grade 1

Location: Escondido CA just 25 minutes from where the turf meets the surf - "...at Del Mar"
8 Month Matchup Thread (Re-posted)

Jim Bradshaw’s Match-Up - 8 Month Update

I have been learning and working the Match-Up for the past 8 months.

What follows are 6 KEY areas of learning and understanding that have come to form the core of my application of the techniques on a daily basis.

Some you will recognize from posts while others are well outside the 5 step approach. This is how I have been taught from day 1.

The 6 KEY areas of Jim Bradshaw’s Match-Up:

1) INTUITION - Allowing the inner voice to be heard as well as Pattern Recognition. Without this there is NO Match-Up, at least Jim’s Match-Up. Take this to the bank.

2) POSITIONING - Including the virtual NON-importance of Beaten Lengths in The Hat’s Match-Up.

3) EARLY or OTHER THAN EARLY - Simplifying the Match-Up regarding running styles PLUS easing confusion regarding WHOM to bet.

4) FIGHTERS - a POWERFUL weapon for the Hat and something which has been taught to me over and over since day ONE.

5) SPOT PLAYS - combining pattern recognition with multi-tracking to maximize PROFITS.

6) VOODOO - Jim’s LEGENDARY reputation of leaving the best of the best in awe at what he does. Is it possible to learn a BIT of what he does and then APPLY it for ourselves to races and get the “impossible horse”?

YES. However, to seriously try and apply this, a totally OPEN mind is needed. A mind where ALL rules and mainstream stuff is thrown to the curb.