Go Back   Pace and Cap - Sartin Methodology & The Match Up > Sartin Methodology Handicapping 101 (102 ...)
Google Site Search Get RDSS Sartin Library RDSS FAQs Conduct Register Site FAQ Members List Today's Posts

Sartin Methodology Handicapping 101 (102 ...) Interactive Teaching & Learning - Race Conditions, Contenders, Pacelines, Advanced Concepts, Betting ...

Old 08-25-2014, 09:12 PM   #1
Matt D.
AlwNW1X

Reducing number in primary

Hello:

I am new to RDSS. I would like to know how to reduce the number of runners in the primary? I read where Ted said this is important to reduce the number in the readouts.

Matt D.
Matt D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 10:14 PM   #2
Hoof 11
Grade 1

After you have made your paceline selections, switch to the “Primary” screen. If you look at the screenshot provided, you should start by looking at the “Total Energy” ratings, you can see here that the top horse has a TE rating of 168.9, with the next four horses ranging from 167.5 to 168.1. Basically the top 5 horses shown here are your contenders, with the rest of the field rating 166 or less. You want to keep horses that are within range of the top 2 or 3 horses, sometimes you can narrow it down to 2 horses depending on the ratings, and sometimes you have to include the entire field if they are within range of each other.

As well, look at the “Primary Factors”, you will notice that the top 5 horses are lit up with top 3 ratings throughout, whereas the horses in the highlighted boxed section really aren’t showing much of anything. In this case i would eliminate the bottom 7 horses.

You should try and break it down to 5 horses if possible, but like i mentioned there are times when you can’t if the entire field is competitive, it’s a judgement call.
Attached Images

Hoof 11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 10:34 PM   #3
Matt D.
AlwNW1X

Thanks for the great illustration